Wednesday, May 29, 2013

T.H. White wrote King Arthur series

It is the birthday of English novelist T.H. White (1906), who is best remembered for his King Arthur series, The Once and Future King (1958), which included the novels The Sword in the Stone (1939), The Queen of Air and Darkness (also titled The Witch in the Wood) (1940), The Ill-Made Knight (1941) and The Candle in the Wind (1958). They were adaptations of Sir Thomas Malory's Morte d'Arthur (1485), the first written collection of tales about King Arthur, Guinevere, Lancelot and the Knights of the Round Table. White also wrote an autobiographical volume, England Have My Bones (1936). The Once and Future King was the basis of the Broadway musical (1960) and subsequent film (1967) Camelot. After White's death, a fifth in the King Arthur series was discovered among his papers and published as The Book of Merlyn (1977).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Our specialties

Our specialties include Floridiana (Florida History, Florida Authors, Florida Related Ephemera), American History, Literature of the South, Military History (including, but not limited to, Civil War, Spanish-American War, World War I, World War II, Vietnam, Korean War), Children’s Literature, Maps, Leather Bindings and Rare & Unusual items.

We also have a wide variety of general stock, including a large Landscape/Gardening section, a great selection of Christian/Church History/Bible Study titles, Beat Literature, and much more. Please browse our extensive category list.

Appraisal service

Michael F. Slicker, is one of about 450 qualified members of the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America, Inc., and its affiliate the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers.

Condition of the book, demand for it and history of comparable sales are among the factors considered in evaluating the value of a book. Other factors may apply as well.

Please contact us for more information regarding our certified appraisal services. We encourage you to visit our website, Lighthouse Books, ABAA

Florida Antiquarian Book Fair

Michael Slicker was the founding president of the Florida Antiquarian Booksellers Association and has served as chairman of its annual Florida Antiquarian Book Fair since its inception.

The 36th annual book fair is set for April 21-23, 2017 at The Coliseum in St. Petersburg.

The fair is the oldest and largest antiquarian book fair in the Southeast. Learn more about the Florida Antiquarian Book Fair and the Florida Antiquarian Booksellers Association.

  © Blogger templates Newspaper II by 2008

Back to TOP